Homemade Fake Flesh

I had heard that you could use gelatin combined with makeup to create your own homemade fake flesh to use when attempting to transform yourself into the walking dead. In my normal style I failed to pay attention to a crucial step in the process, namely that being not to use very much water when you mix the gelatin or it will not achieve the desired texture when heated. Instead I made the gelatin according to the instructions on the gelatin package. Later when I went to heat up my very fleshy looking gelatin it immediately turned to water after a couple of seconds in the microwave. I didn’t have the time or resources to create a new batch (once I referenced the tip and realized my mistake) so I did what I always do and I improvised. I know that you can thicken things with flour so I added flour to my liquid gelatin until it became thicker. I refrigerated it for about 30 minutes and then spooned some out and microwaved it for about 15 seconds. I slathered it all over my face and used a hair dryer for a couple of minutes to speed up the drying process. Once the fake flesh was dry I put a thin layer of liquid latex over it and when that had dried I had super amazing craggy, wrinkled flesh that felt like real flesh. I was able to create wounds with realistic looking depth and even used it to make the end of my nose appear to be rotted away. I later made a batch according to the actual directions (four packets of gelatin to 3/4 cup water) and it made fake flesh but I realized my gelatin flour concoction produced better “dead” flesh results than the gelatin alone. I think next time I need to “zombie-up” I may tint the fake flesh a greenish gray instead of skin colored to save time on makeup application. Also another added bonus to the flour flesh is that the very inside layer doesn’t dry all the way so you don’t have as much trouble with pulling out all your facial hair or eyebrows when you go to pull the stuff off your face. I was able to take it all off with one quick shower.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Fake Flesh

Leave a Reply

