Youthful Misadventures

“My First Experience With Terrible Roommates”

By the age of 21 I really felt it was time to fly the coop and get the hell out of my parent’s house. I appreciated that they had provided me a place to live, rent free, as I put myself through college but it was getting too crowded in that house and I wanted to be free.

My idea of free was to move into a house with several other people roughly my own age. I knew the girl, E, who was renting the house and had been there several times the previous year as we had a mutual friend in common. She had always seemed like a responsible and god loving girl and I didn’t think it would be an issue. I would get the basement to myself and the rent was reasonable.

I was introduced to the other two residents, L & S, before I moved in and they were on their best behavior during that meet and greet. Naive me I didn’t realize there were total crazy faces lying just below the surface of those friendly demeanors. I packed up all my belongings (the contents of a bedroom basically) and persuaded a friend to lend me their truck to make the move two cities over.

After getting all my stuff unpacked I realized the basement bathroom was going to need a thorough cleaning since they had let a previous cat occupant use the entire floor of the bathroom/laundry area as its own personal litter box and had failed to clean any of it. I bought a ton of supplies and began to scrub every inch of the place.

I had poured some vinegar on the concrete floor to try and eliminate the cat urine scent. I was letting it soak as I walked over to the shower with a bucket of bleach water to get started on that. I tripped over something and my bucket went down, spilling the contents out onto the vinegar soaked floor. Vinegar and bleach are not supposed to mix, the result is a pretty toxic chlorine gas. Ooops. I fled the bathroom and opened the front door of the house to let in some fresh air. I got a face mask and went back in with a hose to dilute the solutions on the floor.

Eventually the gas dissipated and the bathroom was clean. At that point I felt safe bringing my two cats over to the new house. I wished that I had a door to my bedroom but figured my cats would stick close to me. I let them out to investigate the new surroundings. Micah stayed close to me but her sister (from the same litter) Emma bolted towards the hallway. I wasn’t worried, if she went upstairs I’d just go grab her. What I didn’t realize is that the guy, S, who lived there had opened the front door and propped the screen door open as well because he was bringing in groceries.

I came around the corner to find the front door wide open and no sign of Emma. I ran outside, slamming the door behind me. I could see Emma at the corner of the wood line on the side of the house. This house happened to be out in middle of a sparsely populated kinda rural area. I called to her but she was scared and wouldn’t come to me. I tried to go towards her but she fled into the woods. I grabbed a flashlight and went to look for her. I never saw her again. I searched for months, up until I had to move out of that house, but my cat was gone forever. I was devastated and so was Micah.

The roommates didn’t seem to care that my cat was gone. One of my friends gave me a new male kitten a couple of weeks later. He was cute and I was grieving so I kept him and named him Tovah. Yes I know it’s a girl’s name, I didn’t care.

Over the course of that summer the roommates threw many wild parties, almost every night. They used my xbox without permission, and borrowed my dvds whenever they felt like it. They ate my food, drank my drinks and never did the dishes. S would volunteer my bed to random dudes he’d invited to their parties and did coke (or maybe it was meth I tried so hard not to notice) in my bathroom, often leaving the dusty mirrors sitting on the counter. He would let his ferrets run around the house and then blamed me when one went missing after a party.

E & L were just as bad as S was but the worst thing they did happened as I was moving out. I had gotten my own apartment, determined not to have roommates after the nightmare they had put me through, and as I came back to get my cats I couldn’t find my kitten Tovah. I searched the entire house but couldn’t find him. Micah was there, just where I left her, but Tovah had somehow escaped the room I had put them in. I asked everyone but they all said they had no idea where he was. I searched the area but didn’t find him. I would later find out through a mutual acquaintance that L and S had stolen my kitten and taken him to their new apartment. E knew but wouldn’t tell me. When I found out I called the police, they refused to help telling me “it’s just a cat” and that I should just move on.

I vowed not to have roommates ever again, sadly I didn’t uphold that vow and would live to regret it.

7 thoughts on “Youthful Misadventures

  1. I know what it feels like to have a cat disappear. It happened to me right after we moved into a new house. I know how hard you searched, I did the same thing.

    As far as the roommate situation…I had a few undesirable ones myself.

    • That was an evil house, I’m pretty sure there was some negative energy there and I was glad to get away from it, though I wished I didn’t have to lose two cats in the process. So many fucked up things happened there in the three months I resided in that awful place I could fill the pages of a novel.

  2. Sounds perfectly horrid. I know we have to learn to deal with things on our own, as part of growing up, but I think you had a really bad time of it. So sorry about the cats 😦

    • My life seems to have mostly consisted of me being thrown into situations and having to learn how to survive them through mental flexibility and general craftiness. What hasn’t killed me made me who I am.

  3. Youthful Misadventures – dobetteralways

Leave a Reply

