Youthful Misadventures

“My Second Shitty Roommate Experience”

After I had moved out of the awful Ramsey house that nearly killed me and lost me two cats I got myself a one bedroom apartment and lived alone for a year. It was glorious. I loved it so much, sadly my bank account didn’t. I was working full-time but also going to school full-time and the expenses were starting to drain away all my money.

A friend of mine, C, from work wanted to get an apartment with me, we got along well so I figured it would be ok to live with her, after all she didn’t drink or do drugs and was pretty fiscally responsible. We found an apartment we liked and signed the lease. Right after we moved, before I could even unpack, I left for a long ago scheduled trip to California leaving my cats at my parent’s house so as to not burden my new roommate with taking care of them for a week.

When I got back I was severely sunburned and cranky plus I was facing a lot of unpacking to do. At first, when I got back, I thought C’s boyfriend, P, had come over to visit but when he hadn’t left after a couple of days I asked C what the hell was going on. She told me that he was staying in her room for a while. Awhile turned out to be a permanent thing. I requested that we add him to the lease, that we split the costs three ways. None of my requests were granted.

It was annoying enough to know I was paying more than my fair share for rent and utilities when there were clearly 3 people living there, but the situation got worse when P started drinking again. Side note, P was and is a horrible person with no regard for others or even his own children.

P would come home drunk and hit on me if C wasn’t around. I would tell C this and she wouldn’t believe me. P would text me inappropriate things which I would show C and she would tell me he must have meant to send the texts to her, even though they had my name in them. P would eat my food, drink my drinks and leave messes in the kitchen for us ladies to clean up. Plus C and P would fight all the time, very loudly…when they weren’t fighting they were fucking, also very loudly.

I think the breaking point for me was the day I came home to find P making a car bomb on my dining room table. I told C he needed to get out, she didn’t take my request seriously. I threatened to go to the management company and tell them P was living there and she got mad at me. By that time I didn’t even ever want to be at home because I disliked P so much. I ended up moving out several months before my lease was up because C just wouldn’t kick P out. In retrospect I should’ve just gotten my own place again because my next roommate turned out to be even worse, but that is a story for another day.

11 thoughts on “Youthful Misadventures

  1. I think it does take time to realise you would rather live alone. When you’re young, you just think you ought to share. But, this and your previous room mate experiences are a hard way to learn! You really did find some awful people to share with! 🙂

  2. Youthful Misadventures – dobetteralways

Leave a Reply

