I’m So Busy My Head is Spinning

Spring is here and with it comes no rest for the weary. Currently I have been spending all of my free time planning things, with a sprinkling of actual accomplishments thrown in for good measure. My “to do” lists accrue as fast as they are completed. It’s almost overwhelming.

May so far has seen the whole cat health scare, a successful Mother’s Day brunch for three mommas, a completely cleaned house, a semi-organized garage, a trip to Philly planned and booked for the end of the month, two new recipes created and the biggest time consumer of them all is the garden progress.

20150511_132755_resized

We built a rather long raised bed and evened out part of our improperly graded yard. As soon as we have our 9 cyrds of organic soil delivered we will fill it and transplant the seedlings we have growing all over inside our house.

In addition to the long box which will house peas, eggplant, broccoli, asparagus and all sorts of random herbs we also have

20150511_132801_resized_1

the soon to be tomato and pepper gardens surrounded by what I hope will become a wildflower border. The pool liner filled with dirt already debuted last year and the tomato plants that grew in it were monstrous things that produced tomatoes well into October. I am hoping for similar results this year now that I’ve added about a dozen large worms to it.

On the other side of the house we still have to build one more raised bed to plant the raspberry and blueberry bushes in. Eventually we will be able to produce almost everything we want to eat during the summer and I get to become even more acquainted with the art of canning.

I just wish we didn’t have to buy clean dirt to fill these planters with. We pulled up so much broken glass and burnt pieces of house though just digging the pool liner holes that there is no way anyone would ever be able to convince me to grow edible things in my yard.

Now to get back to work I suppose. I am currently waiting (day 3) on my IT department to fix the issues that have come up with the new laptop they just gave me to replace my old laptop that they didn’t want to fix the very easy issue of low memory on. Sitting in an office when you can’t really perform any of your essential functions is extremely boring.

12 thoughts on “I’m So Busy My Head is Spinning

  1. You have done so much! What a good idea to use a pool to put the clean soil in. When we moved into our house we discovered that the former owners had had fires on one of the vegetable beds. At first we thought that would be okay as ash is good for the soil. Then we found all sorts of rubbish just under the soil surface. They had burnt anything and everything – furniture, paint, all types of waste. We got rid of the top few inches of soil and replaced it by clean soil but when the vegetables grew they were distorted and looked so strange we didn’t dare eat them. We then dug out a couple of feet of contaminated soil over the whole veg patch and replaced it with clean and then didn’t grow anything there for a couple of years. All fine now!

    • Soil quality definitely has a huge effect on produce. I think we’d need to take at least 24 inches of dirt off the entire yard and replace it which would cost thousands to do. (the fact that I had already paid for that to happen only serves to infuriate me more) I think we’ve probably spent at least 1000 on the planter box materials, pond liners and dirt already though. I am glad you were able to de-contaminate your yard though.

Leave a Reply

